Union City

Area School District

107 Concord Street Union City, PA 16438 | 814-438-3804
It is the mission of the Union City Area School District and the community to empower our students to be life-long learners by providing a safe and caring learning environment designed to meet the needs of each individual.

Athletics

Click here for Union City Bears Event Calendar

    Anyone interested in participating in a sport this upcoming school year please email the head coach of that sport and let them know of your interest.  They will be able to share with you any summer programs they will soon be starting. 

Fall Sports: 

Varsity Girls Volleyball (9th-12th):       Coach Rachel Moore            Email:  rmoore@ucasd.org

Varsity Boys/Girls Cross Country:       Coach Jeannette Boyd          Email: jboyd@ucasd.org

Jr. High Cross Country                          Coach Sharon Reagle            Email: sreagle@ucasd.org 

Varsity Football (9th-12th)                   Coach Randy Gunther          Email: rgunther@ucasd.org

Jr. High Football (7 & 8)                        Coach Joshua Blood              Email: jblood@ucasd.org

Jr. High Girls Basketball                        Coach Kristen Ahl                  Email: kahl@ucasd.org

Varsity Boys Golf (9th-12th)                 Coach Steve Yovich               Email: syovich@ucasd.org 

Varsity Girls Golf (9th-12th)                  Coach Nathan DeSimone    Email: ndesimone@ucasd.org 

Varsity Football Cheer (9th-12th)        Coach Jena Chelton               Email: jchelton@ucasd.org 

 Winter Sports:

 Varsity Wrestling (9th-12th)                Coach Tim Simon                  Email: tsimon@ucasd.org

Jr. High Wrestling (7th-8th)                  Coach Michael Wydro            Email: mwydro@ucasd.org

Varsity Girls Basketball (9th-12th)      Coach Matt Moon                  Email: mmoon@ucasd.org

Varsity Boys Basketball (9th-12th)      Coach Shawn Thompson      Email: sethompson@ucasd.org

Jr. High Boys Basketball (7th-8th)        Coach Adam McNulty            Email: amcnulty@ucasd.org

Varsity Boys/Girls Swimming                Coach Beth Hayes                  Email:  ehayes@ucasd.org

Varsity Wrestling Cheer (9th-12th)       Coach Dana Ward or Coach Megan Myers      Email: dward@ucasd.org or mmyers@ucasd.org 

 Varsity Basketball Cheer (9th-12th)      Coach Kaylee Hayes            Email:   khayes@ucasd.org

Jr. High Cheer (7th -8th)                           Coach Marlee Jones            Email:   mjones@ucasd.org

Spring Sports: 

Varsity Softball (9th-12th)                        Coach Jerry VanZandt           Email:  gvanzandt@ucasd.org 

Varsity Baseball (9th-12th)                       Coach Brian Patten              Email:   bpatten@ucasd.org 

Varsity Boys/Girls Track (9th-12th)         Coach Jeannette Boyd         Email:   jboyd@ucasd.org

Jr. High Boys/Girls Track (9th-12th)        Coach Cindy Struble             Email:  cstruble@ucasd.org 

Announcements

 UC 2020-2021 FALL SPORTS PHYSICALS – JULY 16th

The Union City Area School District, in cooperation with the Allegheny Health Network and Saint Vincent’s, is pleased to offer PIAA Fall-sports physicals for all seventh through twelfth grade students who are planning to participate on an athletic team offered by the Union City Area School District during the fall of the upcoming 2020-2021 school year.

Athletic physicals are Thursday, July 16th at the Union City Area Elementary School for the Fall 2020-2021 athletic season.

These physicals are for any students who plan to play a fall sport for Union City Area Middle/High School during the 2020-2021 school year. All fall sport athletes are encouraged to attend. A physical exam is required prior to participation in any District sport.  This physical will be valid for any sport and all three sport seasons played during the 2020-2021 school year.  A recertification form will be required for any additional seasons at that time. 

The PIAA requires these physicals to be completed no earlier than June 1st each year and they must be submitted as part of the official PIAA CIPPE packet.

**Student athletes entering 7th Grade or any new athlete to our district may be asked to complete a baseline concussion test. (takes approximately 30 minutes)

What to Bring:

  • Wear a mask and remember to social distance.
  • Payment - Athletes receiving a physical exam should bring $10.00 (cash, check, or money order made payable to Union City Area School District).  
  • Completed Sports Physical Packet - Sections 1-5 of the PIAA CIPPE form must be completed and signed by a parent prior to the physical.
  • Completed Allegheny Health Networks:

1. The Consent to Treatment Form

2.  The HIPPA Authorization for Release of Protected Health Information Form

Parents may obtain the packets at the Union City High School office up to July 16th.  These may also be downloaded from this site at the bottom of this page. If you have any questions please contact:

Union City Area Athletic Director

Nathan DeSimone

Cell: (814) 790-2297

School: (814) 438-7611 Ext: 4104

Email: ndesimone@ucasd.org

 

2020-2021 Fall Physical Form Packet:

 
Football Meeting  
There is a football meeting for students in 7th-12th Grade on Thursday, July 9th in the football stadium at 6:00 PM. Please wear a mask to attend. 
© 2020. Union City Area Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website